We rode the Diabetes Ride route as part of our training. I wasn't prepared for the wind. Somehow we had to ride into the wind for 2/3's of the route.
I'm not kidding. I had wind beating into my chest for what felt like the entire ride. I got angry at one point and tried to figure out how it was possible that I was still riding into the wind... and up hill no less. I can only imagine how I looked to people passing me in cars. I was a pissed off cyclist going 2 miles an hour, up-hill and into the wind. I hope they thought "man, they're hard core."... but I'm sure it was more like "damn, I'm glad that's not me."
It wasn't fun. I did not enjoy. My lips were chapped. My ass was sore. My legs were spent.
But I rode the whole stupid thing. It took three hours. I feel a hundred feet tall right now.
--AC
Thursday, February 24, 2011
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment